Rohr releases his list of 28 invitees for Eagles March friendlies against Poland and Serbia

SUPER Eagles head coach Gernot Rohr has released the list of 28 players invited to camp for the forthcoming friendly matches against Poland and Serbia taking place later this month as part of the team's World Cup preparations.


On March 23, the Eagles face Poland in Wroclaw and four days later take on the Serbs in the UK at Barnet FC's The Hive Stadium in North London. This will be the squad's last get-together before the end of the season when preparations for the summer's World Cup will begin in earnest.


In his latest squad, Mr Rohr has kept faith with his veterans including captain Mikel Obi, Ogenyi Onazi and Victor Moses. Home-based goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa, joins Deportivo La Coruna's Francis Uzoho and Daniel Akpeyi of Chippa United as the three goal minders.


Other key players in the squad include Torino midfielder Joel Obi, who is getting a recall after a four year absence due to injury and Russian-based left fullback Brian Idowu, who scored against Argentina on his debut in a friendly in Krasnodar last November. Among the surprise invitees are defender Stephen Eze, forward Gabriel Okechukwu and Al Ahly's Junior Ajayi.


After the two March games, the Eagles will play four more matches before the World Cup begins, including facing England at Wembley on June 2. On May 25, the Eagles will then play the Democratic Republic of Congo in Uyo in what will be their farewell game before leaving Nigeria, after which they will head to the UK to play England before heading off to Austria where they will face the Czech Republic.


Full list



Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna, Spain)

Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC)

Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)



Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey)

Tyronne Ebuehi (Ado Den Haag, The Netherlands)

Olaoluwa Aina (Hull City, England)

Elderson Echiejile (Cercle Brugge KSV, Belgium)

Brian Idowu (Amkar Perm, Russia)

Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France)

William Ekong (Bursaspor FC, Turkey)

Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany)

Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey)

Stephen Eze (Lokomotiv Plovdiv, Bulgaria)



Mikel Obi (Tianjin Teda, China)

Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey)

Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England)

Oghenekaro Etebo (Las Palmas, Spain)

John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Uche Agbo (Standard Liege, Belgium)

Joel Obi (Torino FC, Italy)




Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia)

Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England)

Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium)

Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England)

Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China)

Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England)

Junior Ajayi (Al Ahly, Egypt)

Gabriel Okechukwu (Akwa United)