Peseiro reveals 23-man squad for forthcoming World Cup qualifiers against Lesotho and Zimbabwe

SUPER Eagles head coach Jose Peseiro has announced a 23-man squad for the forthcoming 2026 World Cup qualifying matches against Lesotho and Zimbabwe taking place later this month.


His list includes notable names like goalkeeper Maduka Okoye, defenders Kenneth Omeruo and Olaoluwa Aina, midfielders Alex Iwobi and Frank Onyeka and forwards Moses Simon, Kelechi Iheanacho and Taiwo Awoniyi. Also, the squad also features goalkeepers Francis Uzoho and Olorunleke Ojo, defenders Oluwasemilogo Ajayi and Bright Osayi-Samuel, midfielder Raphael Onyedika and forwards Ademola Lookman, Victor Boniface and Terem Moffi.


Cardiff City's Jamilu Collins makes a return after a long layoff due to injury and there is a first-ever call-up for Bayer Leverkusen forward Nathan Tella. Real Sociedad striker Sadiq Umar also makes a return to the squad, despite fierce criticism of his most recent performance.


Nigeria's Super Eagles will kick off their 2026 World Cup qualification campaign with a match against Lesotho at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium in Uyo, followed by an away clash against Zimbabwe at the Huye Stadium in Butare on Sunday, November 19. Rwanda's Huye Stadium in Butare, was chosen as Zimbabwe’s home venue for the qualifiers, as no local stadium met the criteria for hosting World Cup qualifying games.


List of invited players:



1. Francis Uzoho (Omonia FC, Cyprus)

2. Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC)

3. Maduka Okoye (Udinese Calcio, Italy)



1. Olaoluwa Aina (Nottingham Forest, England)

2. Chidozie Awaziem (Boavista FC, Portugal)

3. Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey)

4. Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal)

5. Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey)

6. Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England)

7. Calvin Bassey (Fulham FC, England)

8. Jamilu Collins (Cardiff FC, Wales)



1. Raphael Onyedika (Club Brugge, Belgium)

2. Joe Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England)

3. Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England)

4. Alex Iwobi (Fulham FC, England)



1. Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England)

2. Sadiq Umar (Real Sociedad, Spain)

3. Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France)

4. Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy)

5. Nathan Tella (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany)

6. Taiwo Awoniyi (Nottingham Forest, England)

7. Terem Moffi (OGC Nice, France)

8. Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany)