Yobe North's Ahmad Lawan elected by a landslide as senate president to succeed Bukola Saraki

SENATOR Ahmad Lawan has been elected as the president of the ninth senate after securing a landslide victory in today's election beating his only opponent Senator Ali Ndume by 79 votes to 28.


In highly transparent elections on the floor of the senate, Senator Lawan, representing Yobe North Senatorial District easily saw off a challenge from Senator Ndume from Borno South Senatorial District. With the position having been zoned to the northeast, there were only two candidates from the geo-political zones as a thirds, Senator Danjuma Goje from Gombe Central Senatorial District withdrew from the contest earlier this week.


Senator Yahaya Abdullahi from Kebbi North Senatorial District had nominated Senator Lawan, while Senator Ndume was nominated by Senator Ishaku Abo from Adamawa North. After the candidates were nominated, senators were asked to come forward one at a time and cast their votes by placing a nomination slip in a ballot box.


Tellers were then called forward to count the votes in the presence of the entire senate, with the number of clips held up as they were counted. After the counting, the clerk of the senate them read out the results for everyone to hear, in what was a very fair and transparent process.